Darton State College

Darton State College News & Events - Darton State College's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter
Gains National Recognition

Home  » News & Events

News and Events

Darton State College's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter
Gains National Recognition

April 23, 2014

ALBANY, GA – Darton State College’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Chapter, Chi Xi, continues its success by winning several nationally recognized and distinguished awards for 2014. Darton’s chapter had two students, Michelle Truong (Leesburg, GA) and Brooks Anne Mitchell (Albany, GA) win two national awards each and scholarships totaling more than $13,000, including the Guistwhite scholarship, which is the second highest scholarship offered by Phi Theta Kapa - only 20 are given nationally! For Darton to have two of the 20 national scholarship winners speaks volumes to the strength of Darton students and the Chi Xi chapter.

Additionally, Darton State College’s Assistant Vice President of Enrollment Management and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) advisor, Frank Malinowski, received the prestigious 2014 Distinguished Advisor Award for the Georgia Region and is one of thirty to receive the award at the international level. He will be honored with the international award during the annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 24-26.

“Receiving this award is an honor, but it is the students’ hard work that allows our chapter to be so successful. My job as an advisor is to advocate and provide growth opportunities for our students. This award reiterates that the students at Darton are not only able to compete, but excel on a national level, and it is my great honor to be a small part of their success,” said Malinowski.

Malinowski has served as advisor and advocate for Darton’s PTK chapter, Chi Xi, for five years. During that time, he has increased the chapter’s visibility on-campus, in the community and nationally. He has helped students win numerous national scholarships, including the New Century Scholar Award for Georgia, Coca-Cola Community College Academic Scholar, and Guistwhite Scholar. In 2012, Malinowski was awarded the Paragon Award, which is given to the most outstanding new advisor in the region.

“This is an incredible honor for these students and Mr. Malinowski, as well as the College. We appreciate their commitment and dedication in making Darton’s Phi Theta Kappa a nationally recognized and successful chapter,” said Dr. Paul Jones, Darton interim president.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

About Darton State College:

Since 1966, Darton State College has been a leader in providing quality educational opportunities and services to Southwest Georgia. Located on a 180-acre campus in Albany, Darton is one of the largest state colleges in Southwest Georgia. Darton offers a variety of programs, including a bachelor’s degree in nursing, 54 transfer program options, and 41 career program options and certificates. Darton State College, a public institution, is part of the University System of Georgia and accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Go Back to News and Events
Go to the News & Events Archive for 2014

For questions, comments or concerns regarding news items, or to find out how to announce campus events via Darton News, please contact the Office of Institutional Advancement.

The Institutional Advancement & Public Relations department is responsible for the information on this page.
For questions regarding content, or for further information, please contact Email: Cynthia George.

Last Update: June 8, 2016 5:55 PM

The Darton State College web site is maintained by the Technology Services Division.