Darton State College

Darton State College Nursing Department | Associate Degree Program | Albany Track

Home  » Programs  » Nursing  » Associates Program

Albany Track

Applications Accepted:
Fall:           Jan. 5th - May 1st
Spring:     Jun. 1st - Oct. 1st
Summer:  Nov. 1st - Mar. 1st

Photo: Students in hospital
Students are accepted into the Albany track three times each year: Fall, Spring, and Summer semesters. Classes are held at Darton State College. Clinical experiences (learning patient care in the hospital) are held at Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital and other facilities in the surrounding area as needed.

All students in the Darton State College nursing program must have health insurance. Students who do not have health insurance must purchase a USG student health insurance policy (SHIP). Fees for the USG SHIP will be added to student tuition each semester. Students who are already covered by an insurance policy (i.e., through parent plans, family plans, or employer-sponsored plans) can easily opt out of the plan by applying for a waiver though a secure online process. Once the information has been verified and approved, a waiver will be processed and posted to the student’s Darton State College student account. The waiver is only available for a specific time frame; therefore, students must apply in a timely fashion or they will be billed for the USG SHIP. Students who fail to submit credible health insurance and opt out online will automatically be enrolled in and billed for the system-wide student health insurance plan. This charge will post to the Darton State College student account. Professional liability insurance is also required and is included in student fees.

Photo: Nursing Student

The Nursing department is responsible for the information on this page.
For questions regarding content, or for further information, please contact Email: Bonnie Hardegree or Email: Sherry Koster
Department Chair: Larecia Gilll, MSN, RN.

Last Update: July 11, 2016 9:15 AM

The Darton State College web site is maintained by the Technology Services Division.